top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekateyfaber

Kimonos!

04/28/2019

Saturday was a lot of fun! I got up early, around 7 am because we had an appointment in Kyoto at 9 am to get dressed up in Kimonos! I went with 3 girls from ATR (advanced telecommunications research, Japanese company) and 1 girl from Kyoto University. Three are originally from Canada (Yas ssi, Cj, Louisa) and 1 is from France (Emma). Louisa, Emma, and I arrived first. I was really glad Louisa was there because she spoke very good Japanese, and I don’t think they really spoke English. I think they were just asking her about our reservation and how many people there were, etc. Cj knew someone who worked there so we got half price for hair + rental + pictures, which was about 5,200 yen after the discount (around 50 USD). 


Someone doesn't look like they belong...*cough cough*

The first step was picking out your kimono and obi (kimono sash). We were able to pick off of the “gorgeous” rack, so I’m guessing they were a little more expensive than usual ones, although they weren’t the traditional silk ones. It took me a little while to decide because I was torn between a blue base or pink base kimono. Usually, I would have automatically gone with pink because it’s my favorite color, but the turquoise really caught my eye and seemed to fit the summer weather better. I picked out a red/pink sash because the other options were green or purple and I thought the one I chose matched the best.


This is a good view to appreciate the back of the kimono!

After picking out your kimono, you have to go into the back room and strip down so that they can dress you. There were SO MANY layers. Like you have this thin under robe (kashimaki??)they put on and then they tie your waist with some strings. Then, they put another more silky robe on that shows the collar under your kimono ( I think it’s called a nagajuban, but there are so many names I couldn’t tell you). They then continue to tie more strings on your waist and a towel...I might be messing up the order, but all of this is UNDER the kimono. Also, you have to wear the traditional Japanese toe socks that are super attractive and comfortable. After a few more strings tied tightly around the towel on your waist, they put the kimono on you. They tie it up so it fits you properly in length and hide the extra under the obi. They tie the obi loosely around you and then stuff a plastic plate up on your stomach so it looks completely flat. After adding the plastic, they tie a few more strings and then finish tying the obi in the back, pretty tight. Finally, they add decorative strings and tie them in a flower on the obi. Annnnddd you’re done, almost. They bring you over to a small in store salon and style your hair for you, usually in a bun for short hair or a braid for longer hair. Finally, you pick out your sandals and go have a 30 minute photoshoot with the photographer. You can wear the kimono the whole day though. The whole process took like an hour and a half, which wasn’t so bad considering we had 5 people all get kimonos and hair done. 


Everyone picked out such beautiful kimonos! Left to Right: Me, Louisa, CJ, Emma, & Yassi

Our photo shoot ended up lasting over an hour and a half! I think it was because the photographer was excited for a big group of girls and also loved Yassi’s poses. It was a lot of fun, but I don’t think I’m much for modeling. I feel too awkward. We walked around for a while after the photoshoot, and taking more pictures. We eventually stopped for lunch around 3 pm. It was hard to eat in the kimono because it’s so tight and you can barely even breathe. After we returned the kimono’s we found some gelato and headed to Osaka. We were planning on going to karaoke, but ended up at a Mediterranean restaurant because Alaa was hungry. I had some falafel and it was amazing! Shout out to Alex for introducing it to me! Around 10:30 Alaa decided to head back to the Kizugawadai area because he had to finish up some work (it was his last week). I went back with him and Diego because I wanted to make sure I could be up and awake for church in the morning. We got home around 11:30 or so and I was so exhausted from traveling and walking around for the majority of the day. It was a TON of fun though! I’m really glad we were able to rent kimonos as a group because I sincerely doubt I would’ve done it on my own. On the way home Alaa and I talked about politics and religion, again. I think that’s been the majority of our conversations. 


Love the traditional Japanese umbrella!

On Sunday morning, I watched Dunkirk with Alex. I really enjoyed the movie, but it did make me sad. I went to church with Diego, he had asked me the night previously if he could tag along and I agreed of course! I think the service was a lot different that he had expected because he is from a Catholic background, so our church probably seems a little more progressive and less traditional. He said he found it interesting that the church wasn’t like an old historic building, but most christian churches aren’t that I have been to. I know the Catholic ones are, but even in America they’re not as old as those in Spain. Regardless, I enjoyed my time with him and I was really happy he was willing to try it out. The rest of my Sunday consisted of napping and laundry, along with helping Emma. She got locked out of her apartment so we had to call someone to come unlock it for her. It took about 45 minutes, but Terry and I waited outside with her. I gave them both a Reese’s Easter egg to try to cheer her up a little bit and I think she appreciated it! I hope that you all enjoy the pictures! Sorry for taking so long to post them, it’s been a busy week!!


This sweet little girl ran to me and asked for a picture, she was adorable!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kobe

bottom of page