top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekateyfaber

Osaka Cherry Blossoms

03/31/2019

In Japan, there are many transitions in the workplace at the start of the fiscal year. My supervisor Iketani-san was assigned to another research group, so Friday was his last day. We went to a nice restaurant near Momoyamagoryo-Mae station for his going away party. Our whole team was there and I sat at a table with Higashi-san and Nakajima-san. I felt bad because it was a vegetarian table, and I know it is a sacrifice for them. It meant a lot to me though and I am glad they remembered my restriction. The area near the train station is known for Japanese Sake, which is Japanese rice wine. It was pretty good, but a little strong. We had some traditional Japanese food, and I don't know what half of it was called. The tempura is my favorite, fried vegetables. I was able to talk to a few colleagues that I haven't talked to which was really nice!


Cherry Blossoms in Osaka.

On Saturday, Terry and I met Denny in Osaka, near the river. By the time we got there, it was raining. I had to buy another umbrella because I have already lost two of mine. I bought a collapsible one so that maybe I can keep it in my purse instead of leaving it on the train. We went to see the cherry blossoms near the river, but ended up getting coffee instead. I did get a few pictures though!


Distant view of Osaka Castle, built in the 1500's.

At the coffee shop, we chatted with two Japanese women. They were so nice and pretty! I ordered my coffee in Japanese and Yuri was impressed, although I had trouble pronouncing caramel coffee. Afterwards, we went to Osaka castle. We made it only right before it closed, so we pretty much just skimmed through all the information. We mainly wanted to see the view at the top of the Castle! It was really cool, especially because no matter which direction you looked, you saw city. It was breathtaking.


In front of Osaka Castle!

Once we left the castle, we went to get Indian food! Terry had never tried it before, but he really liked it! He said it was too much at once, which I can understand.


Plum Blossoms in Shintanabe.

On Sunday, I went to church in Ikoma. We had a combined service there, as I usually go in Shintanabe. I met a very nice Japanese girl one year older than me, named Rino. I talked to her for about an hour. She works in Osaka currently, but has traveled around Japan quite a bit. She also went to France for a year in high school! I was able to practice my Japanese because the lady next to me in only Japanese. It was a little difficult, but I was able to understand a few things! Once we got back to Shintanabe, Gregg and Becky took me to see cherry and plum blossoms. They were so pretty! I am sad that they only bloom for 2 weeks, but will definitely enjoy them while they are here. We also stopped by the store and got ice cream at Baskin Robbins. The ice cream is 31% off on the 31st of the month. It was really good and made me miss getting Graeter's with Alex on the weekends.


Cherry Blossoms in Shintanabe.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kobe

bottom of page